Bretforton Garden Club
Bretforton Garden Club

Bretforton Garden Club

PROGRAMME 2018/19

Meetings take place at Bretforton Memorial Hall

Saturday 17th February – Visit

A visit to the Rococo Gardens at Painswick to see the snowdrops

 

Thursday 1st March – Meeting at 7.30pm

Speaker Joan Bomford – winner of BBC Countryfile Farming Hero 2015 & author of “Up with the Lark”  

Launch of 2018/19 Programme & Plant, Seed & Skill Swop

 

Thursday 5th April – Meeting at 7.30pm

Speaker Chris Edwards -  Garden Birds

 

Thursday 3rd May – Meeting at 7.30pm

Speaker Richard Baldwin – Vegetable growing in a small garden

 

Saturday 12th May – Day coach visit

Visit to Ashwood Nurseries at Kingswinford, West Midlands, with a private tour of “John’s garden”. Coach arranged if enough interest.

 

Sunday 3rd June

BRETFORTON OPEN GARDENS

 

Thursday 7th June – No Club Meeting

 

Thursday 14th June – Evening visit to Fir Farm, Lower Swell where Past Chairman Jon Heath is Gardener

 

Saturday 23rd June – Full day Coach Trip

A visit to The Bishop’s Palace & 14-acre garden, Wells, plus

 Garden Show and Street Market

 

Thursday 5th July – Meeting at 7.30pm

A Celebration of Bretforton Open Gardens Event – a social evening with a presentation of event photos. Invitation extended to people who opened their gardens & all  contributors to the event.

 

Sunday 15th July – Bretfest

 

Thursday 2nd August – Meeting at 7.30pm

Speaker from Hill Close Gardens, Warwick – a group of 16 hedged Victorian gardens.

 

Thursday 6th September – Meeting at 7.30pm

Speaker Jeff Soulsby – Gardening in the Autumn

 

Saturday 8th September – Bretforton Show at The Manor

 

Saturday 15th September – Visit

Visit to Hill Close Gardens, Warwick

 

Thursday 4th October – Meeting at 7.30pm

Speaker Peter Byrne on Dahlias

 

Thursday 1st November – Meeting at 7.30pm

Speaker Julie Ritchie-  Hoo House Nursery

Plants for awkward corners.

 

Thursday 6th December – CHRISTMAS SOCIAL

 

Thursday 3rd January 2019 – Meeting at 7.30pm

Speaker Chrissy Ching – Making your gardening more manageable and tips on pruning.

 

Thursday 7th February AGM at 7pm

Followed by a club meeting TBA

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please look at the Programme page to find out more about our events.

It costs just £5 per year to be a member.

We normally meet at the Memorial Hall in Bretforton on the first Thursday of the month, but check the Programme for details.

Guests are welcome to come to meetings at £2 per head.

If you would like to get in touch, you can email us at bretforton@hotmail.com